Wakefield at Easter


madonna and child-1
prayer for a baby-1It is better to light a candle than curse the darkness…

when the trying stops-1

During some of my darkest hours when I wondered what I had done to deserve my five miscarriages I took some comfort from the message on an Amnesty international leaflet pinned to my studio wall ‘it is better to light a candle than curse the darkness’ and I will admit I did light a lot of candles and say a lot of prayers. My mother (originally from Belgium) and myself even took a trip to see the infamous ‘lady of miracles’ at Mechelen on one occasion. This seemed to work for my first pregnancy but after three more miscarriages  it was Heparin, Aspirin and the wonderful staff at St Mary’s who answered my prayers. On my latest Easter trip to the MA in Wakefield it seemed higher forces were at work again as I found myself in the cathedral taking pictures, contemplating my work and the progress of my residency, wondering at the mystery of life..and death that miscarriage encompasses, and trying to make sense of it all. A beautiful Madonna and child greeted me and I felt compelled to light a candle for all the women and men  who are grieving for, hoping for and saying goodbye to their babies this Easter.

1 in 4 (02)-1

iv'e made my mark-1

infertility-1
Welcome-1
Goodbye baby-1
Leave a Reply

